Cultural Assets



우리의 전통 민요 아리랑이 유네스코 인류무형문화유산에 등재됐다.



  1. Korean

유네스코는 5일(현지 시간) 프랑스 파리 유네스코 본부에서 열린 제7차 무형유산위원회에서 아리랑의 인류무형유산 등재를 확정했다. 인류무형유산으로 등재된 아리랑은 특정 지역이나 시대의 아리랑에 국한하지 않고 모든 아리랑을 포괄한다.

유네스코는 “아리랑이 다양한 사회적 맥락 속에서 지속적으로 재창조되고, 공동체의 정체성의 징표이자 사회적 단결을 제고하는 역할을 한다”는 이유로 등재를 결정했다.

이에 따라 한국은 종묘제례 및 종묘제례악, 판소리, 강릉단오제 등 총 15건의 인류무형유산을 보유하게 됐다. 현재 인류무형유산에는 84개국 213건이 등재되어 있으며 이 가운데 중국이 29건, 일본은 20건을 보유하고 있다. 중국은 지난해 5월 조선족 아리랑을 자국의 무형문화유산으로 지정했으나 한국이 중국보다 먼저 아리랑을 유네스코에 등재함으로써 아리랑이 한국의 유산이라는 사실을 세계적으로 공인받게 됐다.


  1. English

Read the original article here

Heritage is our legacy from the past, what we live with today, and what we pass on to future generations. Our cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of life and inspiration.

Korea is home to total of nine UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Sites, from the Ancient Dolmen sites to the legacies of the Joseon Dynasties.  Korea is also home to one UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site as well.

Cultural heritage is not limited to material manifestations, such as monuments and objects that have been preserved over time. This notion also encompasses living expressions and the traditions that countless groups and communities worldwide have inherited from their ancestors and transmit to their descendants, in most cases orally.

These are identified by UNESCO as Intangible Heritage of Humanity. 

Finally, there are documents created throughout the ages that impacts every human.  From the Magna Carta to the Wizard of Oz, these documents are assets to humanity as they reveal the conditions of the world at the time of its inception.  Throughtout the ages, Korea has produced numerous documents that are now protected under the Memory of the World Register:

As a side note, the Jikji Prize administered by the Memory of the World Programme is named in honor the registered document Baegun hwasang chorok buljo jikji simche yojeol (vol.II), the second volume of "Anthology of Great Buddhist Priests' Zen Teachings".  Administered by UNESCO and the Memory of the World Programme, this prize recognizes institutions that have contributed to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage.  The Prize includes $30,000 in cash contribution from the South Korean Governmen and is awared biannually.