You are here: HomeCulture관혼상제 Milestone Celebrations

Ceremonial Milestones mark the important dates in a person’s life. With influences from the Western Society, Modern Korea is rapidly losing its long held traditions and celebrations.  These influences, however, has not fully changed the consciousness of Koreans’ life. Rooted in millenias of tradition, these milestone of life, while being forgotten, still have a profound influences in every Korean’s lives.

A person goes through various milestones in his or her life. Each individual must grow, from birth to adulthood.  He or she will come of age, get married, establish a family of their own, and eventually face their death. After death, their legacy is carried on by their descendents. Because of the importance of each of these milestones in one’s life, they are celebrated throughout in all cultures. These ceremonial milestones (관혼상제) help one remember that everyone, while an individual, has a responsibility to fulfill as a member of the Confucian Society in the days past.  Traditionally, Koreans believed that the time of one’s birth determined one’s destiny throughout one's life. This can be seen in many Asian cultures as well.  Important events, such as marriage or starting a new business ventures, would be scheduled on auscipious dates (吉日).

Traditional Chinese Astrology (Chinese Zodiac) is based on the lunar calendar.  Tweleve lunar years would complete a single cycle. Each of these twelve years is governed by an animal: Mouse, Cow, Tiger, Hare, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Chicken, Dog, and Pig. These twelve animals represents the potential personalities of the person born on that year. Unlike the western representation of these animals, each of these animals have many positive characteristics associated with them (for example, mice are considered by many western countries as pests).

Finally, rice cakes are traditional Korean food that symbolizes the respect for ancestors and spirits.

관혼상제는 한국인의 생활화된 관습을 설명한 것이다. 현대의 한국은 서구와의 차가 점점 좁혀지고 있다. 전승문화는 신문화에 밀려 오랜 관습도 이제는 사라져 가고 그 대신에 새로운 생활 모랄이 자리를 잡아가고 있다. 

그러나 한국인의 의식구조를 완전히 바꾸어 놓지 못하고 있다. 오랜 관습이 뿌리 깊게 자리잡고 있기 때문이다. 현대 한국인의 마음 속에서는 그 농도가 차츰 줄어가고 있으며 젊은이들 중에는 이미 잊고 사는 사람들이 많다. 그러나 이직 생활을 밑바탕에서는 이러한 관습이 크게 작용하고 있음은 사실이다. 

인간은 삶에서 많은 다양한 단계를 거쳐가게 된다. 아이가 어른이 되어, 결혼을 하고, 가족을 만들고, 늙어가고, 그리고 죽은뒤엔 자손에 의하여 기억된다. 한국에선 개인이 거쳐가는 이러한 변화들이 중요한 의미를가지고 있기 때문에, 관혼상제라 불리는 일련의 의식들을 통해 도움을 준다. 전통적인 유교사회인 한국에서 관 의식은 개인이 공식적으로 사회의 책임있는 구성원이라는 것을 의미한다.

예로부터 우리의 조상들은 태어난 시간이 운명을 좌우한다고 믿어왔다. 많은 아시아 국가들은 '길일(吉日)'을 정하여 결혼이나 사업등의 중대한 출발점으로 삼았다.

중국의 점성술에는 음력을 기준으로 12년을 한바퀴로 하고, 그 해에 해당하는 12종류의 동물이 있다. 쥐, 소, 호랑이, 토끼, 용, 뱀, 말, 양, 원숭이, 닭 , 개, 돼지가 그것이다. 각각의 동물들은 해당하는 해에 태어나는 사람들이 가지고 있는 잠재적인 개성을 나타낸다. 동물이 나타내는 의미는 서양과 똑같지는 않다. (예를들면, 서양인은 돼지와 쥐를 소중히 여기지 않지만, 한국에서는 각각 성공과 창조력을 나타낸다.)

쌀로 만든 떡은 조상과 신들을 모시는 대표적인 한국의 음식이다

Display # 
# Title
1 출산 Conception and Birth
2 The 100th Day Celebration
3 The First Birthday
4 Coming of Age
5 Wedding
6 The 60th Birthday
7 상례 Funeral Ceremonies
8 제사 Ancestral Memorial Rites

Copyright ©2012 I Love Korean;;
All Rights Reserved, except where otherwise noted.
Other videos, articles, company names, or marks appearing
on this website may be trademarks of their respective owners.
Privacy Policy updated on Nov. 13, 2012
Go to top